Follow Us:

Daily Number

  • Article
  • Comments

1

January 4, 2018

A law passed by the Oregon Legislature that will go into effect this week will let 400,000 residents of rural counties pump their own gas. That leaves New Jersey as the only state that completely bans customers from filling their own tanks.

The prohibition goes back to 1949, when the New Jersey Legislature passed the Retail Gasoline Dispensing Safety Act, primarily over concerns about the safety of consumers pumping their own fuel.

As of 2015, New Jersey had more than 10,000 gas station attendants, who made an average of $9.05 an hour, according to the state Department of Labor. In March of that year, the U.S. Department of Labor announced it had recovered $5.5 million in back wages for New Jersey gas station attendants who were not paid minimum wage or overtime in the past five years.

Read more in Daily Number
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»