A National Sleep Foundation found that 60 percent of drivers admit to having driven while drowsy at least once, and 37 percent have actually fallen asleep at the wheel.
The American Automobile Association Foundation says 12.5 percent of fatal crashes involve drowsy drivers.
In New Jersey, drivers are subject to serious penalties even if they avoid an accident. New Jersey’s “Maggie’s Law” prohibits a motorist without sleep for more than 24 hours to drive, classifying them as a reckless driver who could face vehicular homicide charges, up to 10 years in prison, and a $100,000 fine.
If you are tired, pull over, say the experts.