Follow Us:

Opinion

Opinion: Where Did New Jersey's GOP Go Wrong? Let Me Count the Ways
Carl Golden | November 13, 2017 | Opinion
The poisonous memory of Bridgegate, the unshakeable image of Christie basking on the beach, the NJEA’s doomed attempt to punish Sweeney — and that’s for starters
Opinion: Chris Christie’s Surprisingly Solid Record in Public Education
Laura Waters | November 9, 2017 | Opinion
It’s easy to mock the soon-to-be-ex governor; it’s harder to admit he’s leaving NJ’s public schools in better shape than he found them
Op-Ed: Battling Addiction Should Be a Fair and Colorblind Fight
Dierdre Glenn Paul | November 8, 2017 | Opinion
Let’s stop dividing and making classes of addicts and instead start fighting the scourge of addiction collectively
Op-Ed: I Don’t Want to Vote
Maggie Glynn | November 7, 2017 | Opinion
I am tired of the same-old, same-old of both major parties, firmly entrenched, spouting the trite slogans that lost meaning for me eight-plus election cycles ago
Op-Ed: We Can Fight Climate Chaos from the Garden State
Lena Smith | November 6, 2017 | Opinion
If NJ is going to address future superstorms, we need to stop building pipelines and develop an aggressive plan to move to 100 percent clean, renewable energy
Op-Ed: Environmental Justice Is Key Aspect of Climate-Change Policy
Nicky Sheats | November 3, 2017 | Opinion
Climate-change mitigation must not only reduce carbon dioxide emissions but also reduce the disproportionate amount of pollution in many environmental-justice communities
Op-Ed: Fixing the Pension System for Teachers and Taxpayers
Steve Sweeney | November 2, 2017 | Opinion
We have made great progress, especially in the past year, to put our pension system on the road to full funding
Op-Ed: Open Space as Important as Ever
Kelly Mooij | November 1, 2017 | Opinion
Preservation must remain a priority for incoming administration
Op-Ed: Vote 'Yes' on Question 1, Help NJ’s Public Libraries Election Day
Gordon MacInnes | October 31, 2017 | Opinion
In this increasingly contentious atmosphere, libraries remain one of the last vestiges of the public sphere
Op-Ed: Will Christie’s Successor Block Trump’s Efforts to Dismantle EJ?
Laureen M. Boles | October 30, 2017 | Opinion
The New Jersey Environmental Justice Alliance recognizes that communities of color and low-income communities are typically overburdened by environmental pollution
Op-Ed: Now That’s a Patient-Centered Value Framework
Debbie Hart and Robert Goldberg | October 27, 2017 | Opinion
Insurance companies often use value frameworks to steer all patients to the least-expensive products, erecting barriers to obtaining recommended treatments
Op-Ed: Returning to Local Control — What Does Newark Need to Know?
Mary G. Bennett | October 26, 2017 | Opinion
As a significantly diminished and dismantled district is returned to local control, we need credible and independent accounting in all areas
Opinion: Another Day 1 Job for Gov. Murphy — Bring Back the Public Advocate
R. William Potter | October 25, 2017 | Opinion
A cabinet-level public advocate can be a spokesman for those who have no voice, a champion of those who have no power
Opinion: Real Implications of Affordability — It’s Not Just Political Rhetoric
Joel C. Cantor | October 24, 2017 | Opinion
When money is tight or health fails, stress is a major factor in people’s lives
Op-Ed: Pensions, Politics, and the New Jersey Education Association
Michael Lilley | October 23, 2017 | Opinion
New Jerseyans must wake up to the reality that we have allowed a special interest to rig our political system for its own benefit
Op-Ed: What is a College Degree Worth?
Harvey Kesselman | October 20, 2017 | Opinion
Knowing what we collectively expect from a college education determines how to calculate its value
Opinion: Winning with the Party Regulars Rather than the Center
Carl Golden | October 18, 2017 | Opinion
Low voter turnout and poor name recognition may mean this gubernatorial election will be decided by dependable party loyalists who turn out year after year
Op-Ed: Students Must Move Beyond Social Media to Become Truly Engaged
Karan Chauhan | October 16, 2017 | Opinion
It may sound old fashioned, but today’s students need to learn to read reputable news sources, in hard copy or online — for motive as well as content
Op-Ed: NJ’s Next Governor Should Champion Environmental Justice
Ana Isabel Baptista | October 12, 2017 | Opinion
It's time that New Jersey recommit itself to being a leader on environmental protection through an affirmative environmental justice policy
Op-Ed: Let’s Talk About Quality Instead of Charter vs. Public Schools
Danielle West | October 11, 2017 | Opinion
Regardless of the school type, the focus should always be on the quality of the teachers, education, and student experience
Opinion: Blue State Bottleneck — New Jersey and the GOP Tax Reform Plan
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | October 10, 2017 | Opinion
The Republicans have released a nine-page document for 'fixing our broken tax code.' Here’s what it really says
Op-Ed: New Jersey Is as Good for Amazon as Amazon Is for New Jersey
James C. Barrood | October 5, 2017 | Opinion
When Amazon considers New Jersey, it will already find talent, location, and play
Op-Ed: A Rising Tide in Camden — Continued School Progress
Janellen Duffy | October 4, 2017 | Opinion
Key to the turnaround: strong leadership and continued hard work and commitment of students, teachers, parents, and administrators
Op-Ed: Sink or Swim? Time for Serious Action on Climate in NJ
Dan Fatton | October 3, 2017 | Opinion
A comprehensive climate-action plan to cut greenhouse-gas emissions and reduce deadly air pollution may save New Jersey from being underwater — literally
Op-Ed: Cameras in the U.S. High Court — Not a Case of Sound-Bite Justice
Peter G. Verniero | October 2, 2017 | Opinion
Rather than cheapen the institution, cameras at the U.S. Supreme Court would allow the public to better appreciate the high-minded nature of a judicial argument
Op-Ed: No Government Shutdown for Now, but Medicaid Remains at Risk
Kevin Casey | September 29, 2017 | Opinion
The fight to preserve Medicaid is far from over. In fact, it is just beginning
Op-Ed: VW Settlement — an Opportunity for Environmental Justice
Bhavini A. Doshi | September 28, 2017 | Opinion
Dense urban centers in New Jersey suffer from multiple sources of air pollution and are home to significant minority and low-income populations
Op-Ed: Satellite Emergency Departments — Saving Time, Money, and Lives
Leila Sadeghi | September 26, 2017 | Opinion
SEDs are an idea whose time has come, but success means carefully considering several deployment issues, such as distance from and availability of medical resources
Op-Ed: NJ’s Next Gov. Can Make a Real Difference on Climate Change
James J. Florio and Thomas H. Kean | September 25, 2017 | Opinion
As we often hear, addressing climate change is a marathon, not a sprint. Achieving a 75 percent reduction in our emissions by 2050 means we need to get started now
Op-Ed: Newark’s Long Road to Local Control of Schools — Where Will It Lead?
Paul L. Tractenberg | September 21, 2017 | Opinion
Even as Newark may be poised to resume local control, it's not clear how many schools will be returned and whether state operation actually has built greater local capacity to govern them
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»