Follow Us:

Opinion

Op-Ed: Comprehensive High Schools, a Key Piece of the Vo-Tec Puzzle
Chuck Sampson, J. Kenyon Kummings, and Christopher H. Kobik | May 23, 2018 | Opinion
Even if a $500 million bond issue for career and technical education goes through, comprehensive high schools won't get a penny
Op-Ed: Why Free Community College Is Right for New Jersey
Sara Goldrick-Rab | May 22, 2018 | Opinion
Traditional grants and scholarships no longer keep college affordable. ‘Bold action,’ as Gov. Murphy has proposed, is necessary
Opinion: New Jersey’s Tangled History of Debt and How It Got that Way
Richard F. Keevey | May 21, 2018 | Opinion
Part two of an examination of capital planning and budgeting in the Garden State, the long and the short of it
Op-Ed: An Open Letter to State Senate President Steve Sweeney
Ellen Simon | May 18, 2018 | Opinion
I'm not begging you for more money for Jersey City schools; I'm begging you for better policy
Op-Ed: Expand New Jersey’s Pre-K to Strengthen National Security
Steven Hashem and Douglas Satterfield | May 17, 2018 | Opinion
We urge state legislators to help our children develop in mind, body, and character so they can succeed in school and in life, including in the military for those who choose to serve
Op-Ed: Murphy's School-Aid Increases Will Not Help Property Taxes
BettyLou DeCroce | May 16, 2018 | Opinion
Regular audits of education are needed, rather than propping up lopsided education aid and encouraging waste
Opinion: Not Too Soon to Call the Murphy Agenda a Failure
Carl Golden | May 15, 2018 | Opinion
A new budget must be ratified in six weeks, and there’s already talk of government shutdown — with the governor’s own party controlling the Legislature
Op-Ed: Big Revenue from ‘April Surprise’ No Excuse to Punt on Bold Action
Sheila Reynertson | May 14, 2018 | Opinion
An extra boost in income tax collections shouldn’t be used as political cover for hard decisions: It’s an unexpected one-time bonus and should be treated as such
Op-Ed: Homelessness in NJ More Pervasive than HUD Data Reveals
Allan Lichtenstein | May 11, 2018 | Opinion
The federal numbers reflect a ‘snapshot’ of homelessness on a single day, but the reality can be seen far more accurately using annual data
Op-Ed: NJ Is Poised to Fight off ACA Sabotage. Is Gov. Murphy on Board?
Andrew Sprung | May 10, 2018 | Opinion
Two bills are awaiting the governor’s signature: One would create a state version of the federal individual mandate; the other would help institute a cost-saving reinsurance program
Op-Ed: Bond Act for Career and Technical Education Will Secure the Future
Scott Moffitt | May 9, 2018 | Opinion
Funding for more career and technical education will be a game-changer for workforce development in New Jersey
Op-Ed: For Some Dentists, Prescribing Opioids Reflexively Is a Bad Habit
Cecile A. Feldman | May 8, 2018 | Opinion
In the end, providers have the power to stop the opioid epidemic; despite guidelines and new regulations, treatment is still a judgment call
We Have Inherited the Sun: NJ NAACP Enthused About Clean Energy
Ronald C. McCray | May 7, 2018 | Opinion
It is vitally important that we bring all people into the clean-energy movement regardless of race, creed, color, or economic status
Op-Ed: How We’ve Reduced Backlog of Environmental Remediation Cases in NJ
John Oberer | May 4, 2018 | Opinion
Nine years into a program to cut down on New Jersey’s overload of chemically contaminated sites, the results have been impressive
Opinion: Why Is This (Expletive Deleted) Funny?
Carl Golden | May 3, 2018 | Opinion
Michelle Wolf’s f-bomb-studded comic routine at the White House Correspondents Association dinner shows just how much profanity has replaced political satire
Opinion: Capital Planning and Budgeting Do Not Exist in New Jersey
Richard F. Keevey | May 2, 2018 | Opinion
New Jersey does capital planning in a fragmented manner — there is no prioritization of projects and no overall plan to finance needed infrastructure investments.
Op-Ed: Workers and Environmentalists Stand in Solidarity on Climate
Dan Fatton and Louis Kimmel | May 1, 2018 | Opinion
We stand together for worker protections and strong climate policies because we can’t have one without the other. An injury to the planet is an injury to us all
Opinion: PARCC’s Long Goodbye, a Very Good Thing for New Jersey
Laura Waters | April 27, 2018 | Opinion
Promising to scrap PARCC on Day 1 made for a good sound bite, but it makes for bad education policy
Opinion: Sweeney’s Jersey City Gambit for Education Aid
Carl Golden | April 26, 2018 | Opinion
The Senate president’s strategy to redistribute aid from overfunded districts is far more palatable than Murphy’s plan to raise taxes
Op-Ed: Camden’s Next School Superintendent Must Build on Predecessor’s Success
Sean M. Brown | April 20, 2018 | Opinion
The district is smaller, the politics has changed, but we still need to address major education challenges in New Jersey’s poorest city
Op-Ed: We Need to Take the Trauma Out of Childhood
Marjorie A. Paloma | April 19, 2018 | Opinion
Thousands of children in New Jersey have been through traumatic events that can have profound long-term consequences. It’s our job to help them
Op-Ed: Minority Student Program at 50 — Still Centerpiece of Rutgers Law
Paul L. Tractenberg | April 18, 2018 | Opinion
At the half-century mark, Rutgers’ MSP has transformed the face of legal education at the school where it began and across the country
Opinion: Saving the ACA, One Step at a Time
Joel C. Cantor | April 17, 2018 | Opinion
New Jersey lawmakers have passed two bills that would maintain important features of the Affordable Care Act
Op-Ed: For New Jersey State Aid, Let Money ‘Follow the Child’
Jeffrey Bennett | April 16, 2018 | Opinion
The School Funding Reform Act directs that the money it awards should ‘follow the child,’ but its own requirements make it impossible to do so
Opinion: Despite Potential Savings, New Jersey Has No Urge to Merge
Carl Golden | April 13, 2018 | Opinion
Consolidation has been a tough sell in the Garden State, as Sen. Sweeney has found. Residents want their ‘own’ police, fire departments, and elected officials
Op-Ed: People with Disabilities Must Remain Vigilant
Kevin Nunez | April 12, 2018 | Opinion
Many of us unfortunately need government assistance to live and remain as healthy as possible, but we are not a line item to easily be slashed
Op-Ed: Cutting Food Assistance Is No Pathway to Employment
Adele LaTourette | April 11, 2018 | Opinion
Taking away food assistance is not the way to get people on the path to employment that can sustain them and their families
Op-Ed: Celebrating Our Preschool Success
David Sciarra, W. Steven Barnett, Cecilia Zalkind | April 10, 2018 | Opinion
Research has found that the Abbott program produces persistent academic gains through the fifth grade for children enrolled in two years of preschool and narrowed achievement gaps — among other benefits
Op-Ed: We’re Facing the Fate of Wall-E
Laura Overdeck | April 9, 2018 | Opinion
As toys become extinct, so may our children’s critical design skills
Op-Ed: An Investment in STEM Is an Investment in New Jersey’s Future
Ann Borowiec | April 6, 2018 | Opinion
STEM education must be maximized, and we must make sure that women, blacks, and Latinos are among those that receive this essential training
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»