Follow Us:


Opinion: Zero-Emission Credits Aren’t Just for Nuclear Power
R. William Potter | December 8, 2017 | Opinion
We need a comprehensive ZEC policy that reflects the total costs of all power sources — including solar and wind — in the rates charged for them by the state’s utilities
Op-Ed: $15 Minimum Wage is an Economic Necessity for Working New Jerseyans
Brandon McKoy | December 7, 2017 | Opinion
As income inequality grows, fewer people earn enough to afford basic daily needs. That doesn’t just hurt them; it also hurts local businesses
Op-Ed: Collaboration Benefiting Newark Schoolchildren
Michele Mason | December 6, 2017 | Opinion
As Newark transitions back to local control, an exciting time is made all the more so by the burgeoning collaboration between charter and traditional district schools
Opinion: The Four Factors Behind Newark’s Education Turnaround
Laura Waters | December 5, 2017 | Opinion
Academic improvement, higher standards for students and educators, parent empowerment through school choice signal hard-won cohesion for a fractured district in a fragmented state
Op-Ed: A Call to Action to Help End this Country’s Lethal Addiction Crisis
Robert J. Budsock | December 4, 2017 | Opinion
The president’s commission has made promising and sound recommendations. Now we must put action behind the words
Op-Ed: PSEG, Open Your Books!
Steven S. Goldenberg | December 1, 2017 | Opinion
To protect ratepayers against the potential for zero-emission credits to become a source of windfall profits for PSEG, it is essential the Legislature demand an “open-book” approach
Opinion: A Year One Clean-Water Agenda for New Jersey
Chris Sturm | November 30, 2017 | Opinion
It’s time for New Jersey to become a leader once again in protecting our residents and our economy through smart, innovative investments in the water systems
Op-Ed: Airport Workers, First Line of Service, First Line of Defense
Yvette Stephens | November 29, 2017 | Opinion
While we’ve had several victories in improving work conditions, most of us still earn minimum-wage salaries and live below the poverty-wage rate
Opinion: Can Sen. Tom Kean Jr. Regroup Battered Republicans?
Carl Golden | November 28, 2017 | Opinion
Ironically, given the Republican rout, Minority Leader Kean Jr. could help his party deliver a viable alternative to the governor-elect’s left-of-center predilections
Gov.-Elect Murphy Must Prioritize Disability Community in 2018
Kevin Casey | November 22, 2017 | Opinion
For the governor-elect to recognize that people with disabilities are a primary constituent base is a first critical step
For NJ Charities, Tax-Reform Bills Offer Little to Be Thankful For
Linda M. Czipo | November 21, 2017 | Opinion
Among other things, they will shred our community fabric by injecting politics and dark money into charitable work
Op-Ed: As Educators, We Must Measure What We Truly Value
Lisa Wolff | November 20, 2017 | Opinion
Our current system is designed on the premise that there is a single success path and any deviation is either ignored, or worse, punished
Op-Ed: New Challenges for Law Enforcement in a Digital World
George Petersen and Jody Wacker | November 17, 2017 | Opinion
More and more, police officers and first responders are required to secure digital evidence in the field. They must know where to begin and when to stop
Opinion: Top 5 Reforms for Municipal Land-Use Law — a Hand-Picked List
R. William Potter | November 16, 2017 | Opinion
A much-needed overhaul of the complex zoning law that governs most development in the state should be high on new governor's agenda
Opinion: National Tax Reform — Questions for New Jersey Residents
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | November 15, 2017 | Opinion
Asking the right questions can help New Jerseyans get a picture of how GOP-backed tax reform will impact them
Opinion: New Jersey Budget Challenges Are Significant and Immediate
Richard F. Keevey | November 14, 2017 | Opinion
The new governor has many ambitious plans, but first he must make sure the 2018 fiscal years ends with a surplus — as required
Opinion: Where Did New Jersey's GOP Go Wrong? Let Me Count the Ways
Carl Golden | November 13, 2017 | Opinion
The poisonous memory of Bridgegate, the unshakeable image of Christie basking on the beach, the NJEA’s doomed attempt to punish Sweeney — and that’s for starters
Opinion: Chris Christie’s Surprisingly Solid Record in Public Education
Laura Waters | November 9, 2017 | Opinion
It’s easy to mock the soon-to-be-ex governor; it’s harder to admit he’s leaving NJ’s public schools in better shape than he found them
Op-Ed: Battling Addiction Should Be a Fair and Colorblind Fight
Dierdre Glenn Paul | November 8, 2017 | Opinion
Let’s stop dividing and making classes of addicts and instead start fighting the scourge of addiction collectively
Op-Ed: I Don’t Want to Vote
Maggie Glynn | November 7, 2017 | Opinion
I am tired of the same-old, same-old of both major parties, firmly entrenched, spouting the trite slogans that lost meaning for me eight-plus election cycles ago
Op-Ed: We Can Fight Climate Chaos from the Garden State
Lena Smith | November 6, 2017 | Opinion
If NJ is going to address future superstorms, we need to stop building pipelines and develop an aggressive plan to move to 100 percent clean, renewable energy
Op-Ed: Environmental Justice Is Key Aspect of Climate-Change Policy
Nicky Sheats | November 3, 2017 | Opinion
Climate-change mitigation must not only reduce carbon dioxide emissions but also reduce the disproportionate amount of pollution in many environmental-justice communities
Op-Ed: Fixing the Pension System for Teachers and Taxpayers
Steve Sweeney | November 2, 2017 | Opinion
We have made great progress, especially in the past year, to put our pension system on the road to full funding
Op-Ed: Open Space as Important as Ever
Kelly Mooij | November 1, 2017 | Opinion
Preservation must remain a priority for incoming administration
Op-Ed: Vote 'Yes' on Question 1, Help NJ’s Public Libraries Election Day
Gordon MacInnes | October 31, 2017 | Opinion
In this increasingly contentious atmosphere, libraries remain one of the last vestiges of the public sphere
Op-Ed: Will Christie’s Successor Block Trump’s Efforts to Dismantle EJ?
Laureen M. Boles | October 30, 2017 | Opinion
The New Jersey Environmental Justice Alliance recognizes that communities of color and low-income communities are typically overburdened by environmental pollution
Op-Ed: Now That’s a Patient-Centered Value Framework
Debbie Hart and Robert Goldberg | October 27, 2017 | Opinion
Insurance companies often use value frameworks to steer all patients to the least-expensive products, erecting barriers to obtaining recommended treatments
Op-Ed: Returning to Local Control — What Does Newark Need to Know?
Mary G. Bennett | October 26, 2017 | Opinion
As a significantly diminished and dismantled district is returned to local control, we need credible and independent accounting in all areas
Opinion: Another Day 1 Job for Gov. Murphy — Bring Back the Public Advocate
R. William Potter | October 25, 2017 | Opinion
A cabinet-level public advocate can be a spokesman for those who have no voice, a champion of those who have no power
Opinion: Real Implications of Affordability — It’s Not Just Political Rhetoric
Joel C. Cantor | October 24, 2017 | Opinion
When money is tight or health fails, stress is a major factor in people’s lives
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories