Follow Us:

Opinion

Opinion: Can Christie Ride Out the Wave of Criticism Over Trump Endorsement?
Carl Golden | March 2, 2016 | Opinion
The governor is a consummate politician: Is he taking a carefully considered risk or making a fatal error?
Op-Ed: We Must Take Steps to Reverse the Economic Impact of Outmigration
Michele N. Siekerka | March 1, 2016 | Opinion
Anyone who does not believe our high taxes and high cost of living play a pivotal role in driving people from the state needs to have a reality check
Op-Ed: Requiring PARCC Test to Earn High-School Diploma Still a Bad Idea for NJ
Lisa Wolff | February 29, 2016 | Opinion
We don’t want to end up in the unenviable position of other states, issuing retroactive high-school diplomas
Op-Ed: Education Infrastructure in NJ -- If We Build It, They Will Stay
Michael W. Klein | February 26, 2016 | Opinion
We're retaining about as many college students as we can accommodate; the out-migration issue is really an underinvestment problem
Op-Ed: Critical Information is Missing in Push to Expand Casinos in New Jersey
Gordon MacInnes | February 25, 2016 | Opinion
Who gets tax revenues? What about competition? Who will upgrade roads and transit? And exactly how will this help Atlantic City?
Opinion: Some Very Good Reasons for New Jersey to Go to Pot
R. William Potter | February 24, 2016 | Opinion
Legalizing marijuana would end the war on NJ residents -- particularly young men of color -- and generate much-needed revenue
Op-Ed: Don't Play Politics with Distribution of Funds for NJ’s Charity Care
Linda J. Schwimmer | February 23, 2016 | Opinion
Charity-care dollars have to go to safety-net hospitals, rather than being distributed to every facility in the state
Opinion: Is It Time to Ditch New Jersey's Property-Tax System?
Carl Golden | February 22, 2016 | Opinion
Taxes on income and consumption, advocates argue, are far more equitable -- but they'll never get a fair hearing in our fair state
Opinion: On Governing New Jersey -- The Legend of State Property Tax Relief
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | February 18, 2016 | Opinion
We expend too much political energy arguing over funding for local aid and popular direct-benefit programs that have no real impact on taxes.
Op-Ed: Super Bowl Ad Sends Wrong Message About Prescribing Opioids
Elaine and Steve Pozycki | February 17, 2016 | Opinion
With opioid overdoses the chief cause of accidental death in New Jersey, the media can’t make these drugs an acceptable part of life
Opinion: Honest Answers About PARCC Results Versus Scores on NJASK
Mark Weber | February 12, 2016 | Opinion
What is PARCC telling us about New Jersey schools that we can’t learn from NJASK results? Nothing.
Opinion: Flint Is a Wake-Up Call for New Jersey and for the Nation
Chris Sturm | February 10, 2016 | Opinion
What does the public water-supply crisis in Michigan mean for New Jersey communities?
Opinion: Let Flint Strike Sparks to Address Water-Supply Problems in NJ
Daniel J. Van Abs | February 8, 2016 | Opinion
Flint is a failure of responsibility, ethics, and morality. Can the unacceptable happen to our water-supply systems?
Op-Ed: We Need More Teacher Diversity In Our Urban Communities
Yasmine Veale | February 5, 2016 | Opinion
It’s important that students have teachers and administrators who look like them so they feel inspired, relatable, and safe
NJ’s Made Great Strides in Expanding High School Career-Readiness Offerings
Timothy McCorkell | February 4, 2016 | Opinion
There’s a new awareness that innovative career and technical programs benefit all types of students, including those who are college-bound
Op-Ed: Time to Shed Some Light on Corporate-Backed Charters
John M. Abeigon | February 3, 2016 | Opinion
Financial openness is just the beginning. Corporate-sponsored charter schools need to authenticate their undocumented successes
Opinion: On Governing New Jersey -- It’s Time to Reform New Jersey’s Death Taxes
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff and Charles Steindel | February 2, 2016 | Opinion
The state’s death-tax structure is double trouble for residents, comprising the estate tax and the lesser-known transfer inheritance tax
Op-Ed: Ending Unfunded Mandates, a Partial Victory for NJ’s Property Taxpayers
Joseph Tempesta Jr. | February 1, 2016 | Opinion
As we search for new ways to cut property taxes, spare a thought for the state-mandate state-pay constitutional amendment
Scapegoating Newark’s Parents and Charter Schools is Not the Answer
Muhammed Akil | January 29, 2016 | Opinion
Decades of mismanagement and sub-par education spurred state takeover and community’s push for alternative education options
Op-Ed: Improve Health in NJ by Coordinating Behavioral Treatment, Primary Care
Joan Randell | January 28, 2016 | Opinion
Gov. Christie’s $100M commitment is a good start toward improving effectiveness of treatment by taking broader approach
Opinion: Have You No Sense of Decency, Gov. Christie?
Carl Golden | January 27, 2016 | Opinion
Mean-spirited, mean-mouthed response to a questioner in NH speaks volumes about the man who would be president
Opinion: PARCC -- More Accurate than ASK, and the Numbers Prove It
Laura Waters | January 26, 2016 | Opinion
The real problem with pre-PARCC student assessments is that ASK scores trended high, giving us an inflated sense of student proficiency
Opinion: SLAPP -- a Potent Legal Ploy to Silence Environmentalists
R. William Potter | January 25, 2016 | Opinion
Countersuits in response to litigation are often a way to ‘sue them into silence’ -- and court ruling may ease restrictions
Opinion: Thinking Smaller for more Effective Flood Protection
Daniel J. Van Abs | January 22, 2016 | Opinion
We plan megaprojects for extreme floods, but NJ residents suffer while they wait for government to take action beyond the blueprints
Op-Ed: Christie’s Veto Keeps State's Revenue Projection in an Avoidable Rut
Sheila Reynertson | January 21, 2016 | Opinion
Bill included three common-sense components that would have improved budget process and potentially boosted our standing with credit-ratings agencies
Op-Ed: Open Letter to Commissioner Hespe About Newark’s Charter Schools
Mashea Ashton | January 20, 2016 | Opinion
Reject calls for a moratorium on charter growth and instead focus on ways to expand Newark families’ access to high-quality education options
Opinion: On Governing New Jersey -- Lessons From Tax Preparation School
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | January 19, 2016 | Opinion
One of the greatest sources of complexity in the state tax code is that it doesn’t conform with its federal counterpart
Op-Ed: A Modest Proposal Regarding Cost-of-Living Adjustments
Charles Ouslander | January 15, 2016 | Opinion
Taking a page from the federal government may be the best way to end the rancorous discussions about the public-employee retirement system
Opinion: Dr. Christie and Mr. Hyde Deliver State of State Address
Carl Golden | January 14, 2016 | Opinion
Speech swings between apocalyptic predictions about Democratic policies and humane concerns for drug addicts and mentally ill
Op-Ed: We Need to House Garden State’s Homeless, Not Punish Them
Udi Ofer, Richard Brown, and Serena Rice | January 13, 2016 | Opinion
Instead of implementing punitive policies targeting the state’s poorest residents, we should increase funding for proven solutions to homelessness
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»