Follow Us:

Opinion

Opinion: When Not Losing is Winning -- Competition's Impact on NJ’s Tax Policies
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | March 29, 2016 | Opinion
New Jersey doesn’t have to win on taxes. It just has to avoid losing jobs and business
Op-Ed: Guilty Until Proven Innocent -- Unprecedented Challenge for NJ Businesses
Marcus Rayner | March 28, 2016 | Opinion
Sick-leave and equal-pay proposals aren’t inherently bad, but they can make it difficult if not expensive for fair-minded businesses to operate
Op-Ed: Fix NJ’s Social Studies Standards, Let History Take a Backseat
Brian Rock | March 24, 2016 | Opinion
How can students learn civics, economics, and geography when they’re expected to cover so much history?
Op-Ed: A Year Goes by Without COAH -- For Better or for Worse?
Lori Grifa | March 22, 2016 | Opinion
Council on Affordable Housing was far from perfect, but low-income New Jerseyans feel the vacuum that its passing left
Op-Ed: For Businesses, Workers, OMNIA Offers Cure for Rising Healthcare Costs
Tara Cambria | March 18, 2016 | Opinion
For the first time in years, I was able to offer employees a decrease in their payroll deduction for health insurance
Opinion: Newark’s Citizens Should Have High Standards for Their Kids’ Education
Tawayna Peeples | March 17, 2016 | Opinion
Charter school has been supportive of me and my family, and has instilled a sense of hope in my children
Opinion: Memo to Christie, Sweeney -- Hands Off the NJ Supreme Court
Carl Golden | March 17, 2016 | Opinion
Turning the state’s highest court into a political football erodes the essential belief that it is above partisan considerations
Opinion: When Water Utilities Are Sold, the Customers Should Benefit
Daniel J. Van Abs | March 15, 2016 | Opinion
It’s a fact often overlooked or misunderstood, but it’s customers -- not simply taxpayers -- who pay for water utilities
Op-Ed: Integrating Innovation into Today’s Educational Experiences
Adam D. Fried | March 14, 2016 | Opinion
The future will demand an unprecedented degree of innovation and technology knowhow, from preschool to high-school graduation, and beyond
Op-Ed: All New Jersey Hospitals are Part of Healthcare Safety Net
Richard A. Pitman | March 11, 2016 | Opinion
Charity care and Medicaid patients live in all of New Jersey’s 21 counties and receive care at each of New Jersey’s hospitals
Opinion: Unintended Consequences -- The True Cost of $15 Minimum Wage
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | March 9, 2016 | Opinion
‘Proceed with caution’ is the best policy when it comes to guaranteeing a ‘living wage’ for New Jersey’s lowest-paid workers
Op-Ed: What Has Happened to the Mayor Ras Baraka We Put into Office?
Trina Scordo | March 3, 2016 | Opinion
Mayor must recommit himself and his administration to the promises he made to Newark’s parents, students, and teachers
Opinion: Can Christie Ride Out the Wave of Criticism Over Trump Endorsement?
Carl Golden | March 2, 2016 | Opinion
The governor is a consummate politician: Is he taking a carefully considered risk or making a fatal error?
Op-Ed: We Must Take Steps to Reverse the Economic Impact of Outmigration
Michele N. Siekerka | March 1, 2016 | Opinion
Anyone who does not believe our high taxes and high cost of living play a pivotal role in driving people from the state needs to have a reality check
Op-Ed: Requiring PARCC Test to Earn High-School Diploma Still a Bad Idea for NJ
Lisa Wolff | February 29, 2016 | Opinion
We don’t want to end up in the unenviable position of other states, issuing retroactive high-school diplomas
Op-Ed: Education Infrastructure in NJ -- If We Build It, They Will Stay
Michael W. Klein | February 26, 2016 | Opinion
We're retaining about as many college students as we can accommodate; the out-migration issue is really an underinvestment problem
Op-Ed: Critical Information is Missing in Push to Expand Casinos in New Jersey
Gordon MacInnes | February 25, 2016 | Opinion
Who gets tax revenues? What about competition? Who will upgrade roads and transit? And exactly how will this help Atlantic City?
Opinion: Some Very Good Reasons for New Jersey to Go to Pot
R. William Potter | February 24, 2016 | Opinion
Legalizing marijuana would end the war on NJ residents -- particularly young men of color -- and generate much-needed revenue
Op-Ed: Don't Play Politics with Distribution of Funds for NJ’s Charity Care
Linda J. Schwimmer | February 23, 2016 | Opinion
Charity-care dollars have to go to safety-net hospitals, rather than being distributed to every facility in the state
Opinion: Is It Time to Ditch New Jersey's Property-Tax System?
Carl Golden | February 22, 2016 | Opinion
Taxes on income and consumption, advocates argue, are far more equitable -- but they'll never get a fair hearing in our fair state
Opinion: On Governing New Jersey -- The Legend of State Property Tax Relief
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | February 18, 2016 | Opinion
We expend too much political energy arguing over funding for local aid and popular direct-benefit programs that have no real impact on taxes.
Op-Ed: Super Bowl Ad Sends Wrong Message About Prescribing Opioids
Elaine and Steve Pozycki | February 17, 2016 | Opinion
With opioid overdoses the chief cause of accidental death in New Jersey, the media can’t make these drugs an acceptable part of life
Opinion: Honest Answers About PARCC Results Versus Scores on NJASK
Mark Weber | February 12, 2016 | Opinion
What is PARCC telling us about New Jersey schools that we can’t learn from NJASK results? Nothing.
Opinion: Flint Is a Wake-Up Call for New Jersey and for the Nation
Chris Sturm | February 10, 2016 | Opinion
What does the public water-supply crisis in Michigan mean for New Jersey communities?
Opinion: Let Flint Strike Sparks to Address Water-Supply Problems in NJ
Daniel J. Van Abs | February 8, 2016 | Opinion
Flint is a failure of responsibility, ethics, and morality. Can the unacceptable happen to our water-supply systems?
Op-Ed: We Need More Teacher Diversity In Our Urban Communities
Yasmine Veale | February 5, 2016 | Opinion
It’s important that students have teachers and administrators who look like them so they feel inspired, relatable, and safe
NJ’s Made Great Strides in Expanding High School Career-Readiness Offerings
Timothy McCorkell | February 4, 2016 | Opinion
There’s a new awareness that innovative career and technical programs benefit all types of students, including those who are college-bound
Op-Ed: Time to Shed Some Light on Corporate-Backed Charters
John M. Abeigon | February 3, 2016 | Opinion
Financial openness is just the beginning. Corporate-sponsored charter schools need to authenticate their undocumented successes
Opinion: On Governing New Jersey -- It’s Time to Reform New Jersey’s Death Taxes
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff and Charles Steindel | February 2, 2016 | Opinion
The state’s death-tax structure is double trouble for residents, comprising the estate tax and the lesser-known transfer inheritance tax
Op-Ed: Ending Unfunded Mandates, a Partial Victory for NJ’s Property Taxpayers
Joseph Tempesta Jr. | February 1, 2016 | Opinion
As we search for new ways to cut property taxes, spare a thought for the state-mandate state-pay constitutional amendment
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»