Follow Us:

Opinion

Op-Ed: As Educators, We Must Measure What We Truly Value

Lisa Wolff | November 20, 2017 | Opinion

Our current system is designed on the premise that there is a single success path and any deviation is either ignored, or worse, punished

Op-Ed: New Challenges for Law Enforcement in a Digital World

George Petersen and Jody Wacker | November 17, 2017 | Opinion
More and more, police officers and first responders are required to secure digital evidence in the field. They must know where to begin and when to stop
Opinion: Top 5 Reforms for Municipal Land-Use Law — a Hand-Picked List
R. William Potter | November 16, 2017 | Opinion
A much-needed overhaul of the complex zoning law that governs most development in the state should be high on new governor's agenda
Opinion: National Tax Reform — Questions for New Jersey Residents
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | November 15, 2017 | Opinion
Asking the right questions can help New Jerseyans get a picture of how GOP-backed tax reform will impact them
Opinion: New Jersey Budget Challenges Are Significant and Immediate
Richard F. Keevey | November 14, 2017 | Opinion
The new governor has many ambitious plans, but first he must make sure the 2018 fiscal years ends with a surplus — as required
Opinion: Where Did New Jersey's GOP Go Wrong? Let Me Count the Ways
Carl Golden | November 13, 2017 | Opinion
The poisonous memory of Bridgegate, the unshakeable image of Christie basking on the beach, the NJEA’s doomed attempt to punish Sweeney — and that’s for starters
Opinion: Chris Christie’s Surprisingly Solid Record in Public Education
Laura Waters | November 9, 2017 | Opinion
It’s easy to mock the soon-to-be-ex governor; it’s harder to admit he’s leaving NJ’s public schools in better shape than he found them
Op-Ed: Battling Addiction Should Be a Fair and Colorblind Fight
Dierdre Glenn Paul | November 8, 2017 | Opinion
Let’s stop dividing and making classes of addicts and instead start fighting the scourge of addiction collectively
Op-Ed: I Don’t Want to Vote
Maggie Glynn | November 7, 2017 | Opinion
I am tired of the same-old, same-old of both major parties, firmly entrenched, spouting the trite slogans that lost meaning for me eight-plus election cycles ago
Op-Ed: We Can Fight Climate Chaos from the Garden State
Lena Smith | November 6, 2017 | Opinion
If NJ is going to address future superstorms, we need to stop building pipelines and develop an aggressive plan to move to 100 percent clean, renewable energy
Op-Ed: Environmental Justice Is Key Aspect of Climate-Change Policy
Nicky Sheats | November 3, 2017 | Opinion
Climate-change mitigation must not only reduce carbon dioxide emissions but also reduce the disproportionate amount of pollution in many environmental-justice communities
Op-Ed: Fixing the Pension System for Teachers and Taxpayers
Steve Sweeney | November 2, 2017 | Opinion
We have made great progress, especially in the past year, to put our pension system on the road to full funding
Op-Ed: Open Space as Important as Ever
Kelly Mooij | November 1, 2017 | Opinion
Preservation must remain a priority for incoming administration
Op-Ed: Vote 'Yes' on Question 1, Help NJ’s Public Libraries Election Day
Gordon MacInnes | October 31, 2017 | Opinion
In this increasingly contentious atmosphere, libraries remain one of the last vestiges of the public sphere
Op-Ed: Will Christie’s Successor Block Trump’s Efforts to Dismantle EJ?
Laureen M. Boles | October 30, 2017 | Opinion
The New Jersey Environmental Justice Alliance recognizes that communities of color and low-income communities are typically overburdened by environmental pollution
Op-Ed: Now That’s a Patient-Centered Value Framework
Debbie Hart and Robert Goldberg | October 27, 2017 | Opinion
Insurance companies often use value frameworks to steer all patients to the least-expensive products, erecting barriers to obtaining recommended treatments
Op-Ed: Returning to Local Control — What Does Newark Need to Know?
Mary G. Bennett | October 26, 2017 | Opinion
As a significantly diminished and dismantled district is returned to local control, we need credible and independent accounting in all areas
Opinion: Another Day 1 Job for Gov. Murphy — Bring Back the Public Advocate
R. William Potter | October 25, 2017 | Opinion
A cabinet-level public advocate can be a spokesman for those who have no voice, a champion of those who have no power
Opinion: Real Implications of Affordability — It’s Not Just Political Rhetoric
Joel C. Cantor | October 24, 2017 | Opinion
When money is tight or health fails, stress is a major factor in people’s lives
Op-Ed: Pensions, Politics, and the New Jersey Education Association
Michael Lilley | October 23, 2017 | Opinion
New Jerseyans must wake up to the reality that we have allowed a special interest to rig our political system for its own benefit
Op-Ed: What is a College Degree Worth?
Harvey Kesselman | October 20, 2017 | Opinion
Knowing what we collectively expect from a college education determines how to calculate its value
Opinion: Winning with the Party Regulars Rather than the Center
Carl Golden | October 18, 2017 | Opinion
Low voter turnout and poor name recognition may mean this gubernatorial election will be decided by dependable party loyalists who turn out year after year
Op-Ed: Students Must Move Beyond Social Media to Become Truly Engaged
Karan Chauhan | October 16, 2017 | Opinion
It may sound old fashioned, but today’s students need to learn to read reputable news sources, in hard copy or online — for motive as well as content
Op-Ed: NJ’s Next Governor Should Champion Environmental Justice
Ana Isabel Baptista | October 12, 2017 | Opinion
It's time that New Jersey recommit itself to being a leader on environmental protection through an affirmative environmental justice policy
Op-Ed: Let’s Talk About Quality Instead of Charter vs. Public Schools
Danielle West | October 11, 2017 | Opinion
Regardless of the school type, the focus should always be on the quality of the teachers, education, and student experience
Opinion: Blue State Bottleneck — New Jersey and the GOP Tax Reform Plan
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | October 10, 2017 | Opinion
The Republicans have released a nine-page document for 'fixing our broken tax code.' Here’s what it really says
Op-Ed: New Jersey Is as Good for Amazon as Amazon Is for New Jersey
James C. Barrood | October 5, 2017 | Opinion
When Amazon considers New Jersey, it will already find talent, location, and play
Op-Ed: A Rising Tide in Camden — Continued School Progress
Janellen Duffy | October 4, 2017 | Opinion
Key to the turnaround: strong leadership and continued hard work and commitment of students, teachers, parents, and administrators
Op-Ed: Sink or Swim? Time for Serious Action on Climate in NJ
Dan Fatton | October 3, 2017 | Opinion
A comprehensive climate-action plan to cut greenhouse-gas emissions and reduce deadly air pollution may save New Jersey from being underwater — literally
Op-Ed: Cameras in the U.S. High Court — Not a Case of Sound-Bite Justice
Peter G. Verniero | October 2, 2017 | Opinion
Rather than cheapen the institution, cameras at the U.S. Supreme Court would allow the public to better appreciate the high-minded nature of a judicial argument
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»