Follow Us:

Opinion

Opinion: Front-Row Seats for the Trenton Power Struggle

Carl Golden | June 22, 2018 | Opinion

It’s not about any of the issues that Murphy and Sweeney have made their own, it’s about who calls the shots, the governor or the Legislature — and the conflict is only going to get uglier

Op-Ed: Reducing Disposable Bags Means Both Paper and Plastic

Rocco D’Antonio | June 21, 2018 | Opinion
Plastic bags may have a worse reputation, but their paper equivalents are at least just as bad for the environment
Op-Ed: Ten New Ways to View A Career in Manufacturing
John W. Kennedy | June 20, 2018 | Opinion
New Jersey’s manufacturing and STEM industries are very much alive and well, with 11,000 companies, 360,000-plus employees, and $46 billion in output
Op-Ed: Let’s See if Lawmakers Stand Up to Unions by Voting to Curb Unused Sick Days
Christian Barranco | June 19, 2018 | Opinion
Legislators need to show courage to ‘bring public-sector workers in line with everyday working people’
Op-Ed: A Cascade of Travesties
Michael Heffler | June 18, 2018 | Opinion
PennEast hacks an unconscionable pipeline-review process
Op-Ed: State’s New Law on Absenteeism — Only the Beginning
Cynthia Rice and Peter Chen | June 15, 2018 | Opinion
Schools that succeed in reducing absenteeism go beyond just complying with state and district rules to encourage and support attendance as a fundamental part of their mission to educate
Op-Ed: Helping New Jerseyans Take Control of Where Their Electricity Comes From
Curt Macysyn | June 13, 2018 | Opinion
The way electricity is consumed and produced is changing. We no longer need to rely on large, centralized generation to keep the lights on
Opinion: The New Jersey Budget Strategy Must Be Better
Richard F. Keevey | June 12, 2018 | Opinion
Either we move the budget discussion to a multiyear approach or we will fail to address our tax and spending issues and be right back at it again next year with no permanent solutions
Op-Ed: Staffing Ratios — The Wrong Formula for Patients and Nurses
Aline Holmes | June 11, 2018 | Opinion
Treating nurses as numbers rather than as the trained professionals they are, devalues them
Op-Ed: ZIP Code Shouldn’t Determine the Tech Experiences of Students
Danielle West | June 8, 2018 | Opinion
How can schools in poorer, urban areas create a level playing field with their suburban counterparts?
Op-Ed: Shifting New Jersey from Worst to First in Maternity Care
Jill Wodnick | June 7, 2018 | Opinion
Our rates of cesarean births are neither safe nor sustainable. We have the responsibility of transforming maternity care in this state. Let’s begin
Opinion: Leap of Faith — Will Murphy’s Pension Bill CV Really Protect Taxpayers?
Andrew Sidamon-Eristoff | June 6, 2018 | Opinion
The governor has been lauded in the press for fixing a ‘terrible’ bill, but a closer look at the amended legislation raises additional questions and concerns
Op-Ed: Supreme Court Can’t Break the Will of American Workers and Their Unions
Tania Capobianco | June 5, 2018 | Opinion
The nation’s top court will rule on Janus v. AFSCME any time now, an attempt by the rich and powerful to end economic equality in this country
Opinion: Note to Governor: Take the Hint, and the Revised Revenue Estimates
Carl Golden | June 4, 2018 | Opinion
Sweeney and Coughlin & Co. have put Murphy in a bind: Go with their revised numbers or risk further alienating Democratic lawmakers
Op-Ed: Time to Fix the PARCC-for-Graduation Mess
Stan Karp | June 1, 2018 | Opinion
More than a dozen states are using the SAT or ACT for federal accountability to measure 'college readiness' without any link to high school diplomas. New Jersey should follow suit
Opinion: Ending New Jersey’s Policy of Cruel and Usual Punishment
R. William Potter | May 31, 2018 | Opinion
Undocumented immigrants are often tried and sentenced to deportation without benefit of legal counsel
Op-Ed: The Myth of Sisyphus and the Achievement Gap
John Kellmayer | May 30, 2018 | Opinion
The tension between Americans’ belief in equality of educational opportunity and personal liberty means there will always be an achievement gap
Op-Ed: Finding Root Causes for High Preterm Birth Rates Among Black Women
Stephanie Annang | May 29, 2018 | Opinion
Racial inequality is a chronic stressor that takes a cumulative toll on African-American women, increasing the chance they will have health problems at younger ages
Opinion: Remembering Our Heroes
Richard F. Keevey | May 25, 2018 | Opinion
On Memorial Day, we both celebrate what made our country great and acknowledge our responsibilities for its future
Op-Ed: Legalizing Marijuana Puts New Jersey Adolescents at Risk
Melissa Tassé | May 24, 2018 | Opinion
We owe it to ourselves to be educated and informed about what recreational marijuana legalization will do to our society and especially our children
Op-Ed: Comprehensive High Schools, a Key Piece of the Vo-Tec Puzzle
Chuck Sampson, J. Kenyon Kummings, and Christopher H. Kobik | May 23, 2018 | Opinion
Even if a $500 million bond issue for career and technical education goes through, comprehensive high schools won't get a penny
Op-Ed: Why Free Community College Is Right for New Jersey
Sara Goldrick-Rab | May 22, 2018 | Opinion
Traditional grants and scholarships no longer keep college affordable. ‘Bold action,’ as Gov. Murphy has proposed, is necessary
Opinion: New Jersey’s Tangled History of Debt and How It Got that Way
Richard F. Keevey | May 21, 2018 | Opinion
Part two of an examination of capital planning and budgeting in the Garden State, the long and the short of it
Op-Ed: An Open Letter to State Senate President Steve Sweeney
Ellen Simon | May 18, 2018 | Opinion
I'm not begging you for more money for Jersey City schools; I'm begging you for better policy
Op-Ed: Expand New Jersey’s Pre-K to Strengthen National Security
Steven Hashem and Douglas Satterfield | May 17, 2018 | Opinion
We urge state legislators to help our children develop in mind, body, and character so they can succeed in school and in life, including in the military for those who choose to serve
Op-Ed: Murphy's School-Aid Increases Will Not Help Property Taxes
BettyLou DeCroce | May 16, 2018 | Opinion
Regular audits of education are needed, rather than propping up lopsided education aid and encouraging waste
Opinion: Not Too Soon to Call the Murphy Agenda a Failure
Carl Golden | May 15, 2018 | Opinion
A new budget must be ratified in six weeks, and there’s already talk of government shutdown — with the governor’s own party controlling the Legislature
Op-Ed: Big Revenue from ‘April Surprise’ No Excuse to Punt on Bold Action
Sheila Reynertson | May 14, 2018 | Opinion
An extra boost in income tax collections shouldn’t be used as political cover for hard decisions: It’s an unexpected one-time bonus and should be treated as such
Op-Ed: Homelessness in NJ More Pervasive than HUD Data Reveals
Allan Lichtenstein | May 11, 2018 | Opinion
The federal numbers reflect a ‘snapshot’ of homelessness on a single day, but the reality can be seen far more accurately using annual data
Op-Ed: NJ Is Poised to Fight off ACA Sabotage. Is Gov. Murphy on Board?
Andrew Sprung | May 10, 2018 | Opinion
Two bills are awaiting the governor’s signature: One would create a state version of the federal individual mandate; the other would help institute a cost-saving reinsurance program
Sponsors
Corporate Supporters
Most Popular Stories
«
»